Kurdistan Region’s new MPs take oath of office

11/7/2018 6:42:00 AM

Newly-appointed Kurdistan Region legislators on Tuesday, 6/11/2018, took their oaths of office during their first session after the Region’s Judicial Council recently approved the results of the Sept. 30 election of the Kurdistan Region Parliament.

The session was directed by the eldest MP, Reving Hirori, who is a member of the Kurdistan Democratic Party (KDP).

As the political parties have not met yet to discuss government construction talks, parliament president and his deputies were not elected, and the session was left open until further discussions will be made to form the new government of the Kurdistan Region.

The Kurdistan Region Parliament includes 111 seats with eleven seats reserved for ethnic groups such as Turkmen, Christian, and Armenian parties.